Live. Life. Like. Luke.

Luke Swearingin, an eighth grade student where I teach, died on Wednesday. He was loved by everyone and will be greatly missed. A student came up with a very apropos symbol to honor Luke, which students wrote on their knuckles — L. L. L. L., which stands for Live Life Like Luke. If we could, it would be a great way to live. To my Raymore-Peculiar family, I love you all. God be with you.  The “I” in this is meant to represent the reader, whomever they may be. Luke had something to teach all of us about creating a better world.

Sometimes, I can be mean to others. Luke was never mean to anyone. I need to remember to Live Life Like Luke.

Sometimes, I let the stress of my day get to me and I forget to smile. Luke never forgot to smile. I need to remember to Live Life Like Luke.

There are times when I lack the confidence I need to try something new. Luke was always ready to try new things. I need to remember to Live Life Like Luke.

On occasion, I have doubts about my ability to accomplish a task. Luke never doubted his ability and gave everything he had to any task at hand. I need to remember to Live Life Like Luke.

Sometimes, I let sadness overwhelm me, making me forget how truly blessed I am. If Luke was sad, he never let it show, but instead, knew he was blessed. I need to remember to Live Life Like Luke.

Sometimes, I stop noticing all the blessings around me, the people I love, the people who make life worth living. Luke noticed everyone, spreading happiness everywhere he went. I need to remember to Live Life Like Luke.

There are times when I cause others to feel pain, either with my words or deeds. Luke only gave others joy. I need to remember to Live Life Like Luke.

On occasion, it seems like my troubles are so heavy that I cannot bear the load. Nothing was too heavy for Luke. I need to remember to Live Life Like Luke.

Sometimes, days go by when I do not give my all. Luke gave his all in everything he did, no matter how small. I need to remember to Live Life Like Luke.

Sometimes, the noise of the world drowns out the beautiful music that would just make me want to dance. Luke never forgot to dance. I need to remember to Live Life Like Luke.

Sometimes, I forget to love. Luke never forgot love. I need to remember  to Live Life Like Luke.

Thank you Luke. Thank you for reminding me how to live. I love you.

J. VanPelt

P.S. Sometimes, I let the light of my soul be dimmed by the shadow of sin. The light of Luke always shined bright. I need to remember to Live Life Like Luke.

28 responses to “Live. Life. Like. Luke.

  1. I am Brenda Elhapipy, a missionary for Egypt and Alaska I also am Luke’s first cousin( my mom and his dad are siblings). I want to thank you for your write up about his impression on all ya’lls lives. He truly was a miracle and a blessings. Luke would go to our grandma Ruby’s and set off all the battery opperated musical singing and dancing animals. Also when my mom passed away September 2006 Luke placed a beanie baby in her casket telling her,” Aunt Carol now you don’t have to travel to be with God alone.”, I wasn’t able to grieve with the family being in Alaska but thank you for the oppourtunity to CELEBRATE his life.

    • Vantage Point Productions

      I am so sorry for your family’s loss. I was so blessed to have the opportunity to know Luke and to be his dance partner. The last dance was not the same without him. He always danced with me. We were such crazy dancers together! It was sad not having him there. We all really loved him. Blessings to you and your family.

      John VanPelt
      Proud to be Luke’s teacher

  2. I met Luke while I was student teaching and he seemed so sweet. My daughter, Lanie was pretty upset as his passing. What a nice tribute to him you have written. When something like this happens the best we can hope for is that a good person’s passing will remind those of us he left behind to choose love and kindness in their lives.

  3. didn’t know this special young man, my niece Piper told me about him and , my heart was broken for his family and the school, but after reading your post I can see he was so very precious!

  4. What a good tribute to Luke. I truly believe many people are starting to realize how precious life really is and how you treat others is so important.. I sure I have noticed it lately. I’m proud to say, Living Life Like Luke has changed me. I’ve been trying hard and it’s really paying off.
    It’s things like this that open peoples eyes.
    <4

  5. What a wonderful tribute to this special boy! We need to understand that these special kids are a gift from God; how else can He show us the pure loving soul of human beings? I did not know Luke, but I have known special people in my life. It is a fact that all who knew him will never forget him, especially his classmates. My heart and prayers to his mom and dad and his family; they will miss him more than anyone ever can.

  6. Absolutely perfect!! Thanks for sharing and the gentle reminder!!

  7. Beautiful. I hope a lot of people read this. Luke showed us all how we should live.

  8. Shelly Stegmaier

    Thank you for this, my heart has been so heavy since Luke went to the other side. The other thing about Luke he loved Christ and wasn’t ashamed to say it or show it. As the Bible says do not hide the light of Christ. His light will shine forever in the way he lived. I hope I can Live Life Like Luke

  9. Beautifully written, inspiring, and exactly what I needed! Thank you for sharing with all of us 🙂

  10. John,

    I keep reading this over and over today, and I cry just about every time I read it. Thank you so much for posting this and sharing your thoughts. I totally agree with your friend, Miles. You have that zest for life just like Luke!! Keep your head up, dear friend. Love ya…

  11. John,

    I keep reading this over and over, and I cry just about every time I read it! Thank you for posting this and sharing your thoughts! I totally agree with your friend, Miles. You have a zest for life much like Luke!! Keep your head up, friend!! Love ya…

    • Vantage Point Productions

      Thank you Tara. You are such a sweet and kind person. You are also one of those people I look to for an example of how I should treat others.

  12. VP, thanks for making me cry. 🙂 Reading this makes me sad about where you are and where you have been. Next time I see you looking so deflated, I’m going to remind you to L.L.L.L.

    I’m so glad that knowing Luke has opened so many doors of reflection for you! I’m so happy that he continues to touch your life even after his death.

    Hugs to you, my friend.

    • Vantage Point Productions

      Thank you, Nikki. Yes, I wrote this from my perspective, but I really intended it to be applied to everyone’s life. The “I” is meant to be the reader, whomever they may be. Anyway, I think if everyone could LLLL, life would be so much better for all.

      John

  13. Really makes me wish I’d known the dude, but also makes me feel like I did. Thanks for sharing Luke with those of us who never got to meet him in person. John. And from all I see, I think you like life a lot more like Luke than you realize. I know I’m seeing from afar, but I see it in your students’ reactions to you.

Leave a Reply

