National Anthem is About the Nation, Not the Singer

They sing the wrong words. They sing the wrong notes. Sometimes, it is as if they are singing the wrong anthem.

I am tired of listening to singers butcher the national anthem. The “Star-Spangled Banner” is a gorgeous, moving, challenging song. Lately, the mashed, twisted, rearranged versions I am hearing make my ears ring; not from the bombs bursting in air, but the notes twinging, twanging and trilling without ever finding a home.

Listening to Christina Aguilera’s version of the national anthem during the Superbowl on Sunday was so horrific to me that I did not even notice she had messed up the words. Her notes were so wrong, so off, that I completely missed the fact that there were no ramparts anymore. Honestly, all the trilling really is just a sign that she cannot hit and/or sustain a note.

When I was a younger man, people sang the national anthem the way it was written. And, you know what happened, everyone sang along.

That is what I want. I would die and go to heaven if I could perform the national anthem at Arrowhead with all 73,000 people belting it out with me.

Now, that would be powerful. That would be awe-inspiring. That is the way it used to be.

Sadly, singers think it is all about them now. That is the problem; our selfish, hey-look-at-me culture. They want to be applauded for how great they sang the anthem and how they “made it their own.”

It does not belong to them. It belongs to the nation. It is not about them. It is about our nation.

That is what we have forgotten. It is time for us to take it back. Let’s put the “nation” back in our national anthem.

9 responses to “National Anthem is About the Nation, Not the Singer

  1. Thank you so much for your post! We need to start singing the National Anthem so others may join in and also share their pride for our country. GOD BLESS AMERICA!
    -Mr.Gordon I

    • Vantage Point Productions

      Mr. Gordon,
      Thank you for your input. Just like I enjoy singing at church (and do not like it when the choir picks songs with which no one can sing along), I do not like it when I cannot sing along to the national anthem. We all should be able to sing it. It is our song. When singers change it too much (as is becoming the case), we cannot sing along. And, I agree, God Bless America!
      VP

  2. Pingback: Christina Aguilera: The Anthem Terrorist « Mr Gordon the First

  3. John,
    Great writing! I totally agree. I really loved her excuse for messing up the words….she was just so wrapped up in the song. WHATEVER! I think she was wrapped up in herself.

    Glad your blog is back! I enjoy reading it!

    • Vantage Point Productions

      Courtney,

      Thanks! I agree, they are all just too much wrapped up in themselves. And what was up with her hair? I said to Mary, “What is that? A wig?” Mary said it was just so damaged from being overtreated. Wow. I used to think Aguilerra was cute. Not anymore. She can belt out a song, this is true. But, can she sing one?

      VP

  4. I agree that they have to keep changing it to make their statement when it is about our country and patriotism, not just the singer trying to impress rather than express!

  5. Rebecca Schreiber Russell

    I couldn’t agree more, John. Christina was singing for her own self importance. The gal from Glee that sang before Christine was real thing. You could see joy in her face/being as she sang. She was dressed in slacks and a coat for the weather, not a costume to glorify herself……..big difference.

    • Vantage Point Productions

      Rebecca,

      I thought the exact same thing. You know, because of that girl’s great singing, I actually watched “Glee” for the first time that night. Thanks for sharing. Take care.

      John

Leave a Reply

