Swine Flu: True Stats or Just Plain Slop?

Frightening words and scary numbers are being bandied about when it comes to the H1N1 virus, otherwise known as the “Swine Flu.” Words such as “pandemic,” “epidemic,” “surge” and “die.” The numbers range from 30 percent of the U.S. population to 50 percent, with up to 90,000 dead.

All these frightening words, all these scary numbers; yet, little evidence to back them up. More people will wind up dying out of sheer terror thinking about the swine flu than actually from the illness itself.

Tonight, the Channel 9 (ABC-Kansas City) news caught my attention with their report on the swine flu. The report said that some so-called “experts” were saying up to half of the U.S. population could be infected by the H1N1 virus this year and up to 90,000 people could die.

I then read an article by Mike Stobbe of the Associated Press that reported the findings of a “White House expert panel” that said anywhere from 30 percent to half of Americans could be infected “during the course of this pandemic and that from 30,000 to 90,000 could die.” (1)

To that I say, prove it. To that I say, I will believe it when I see it. To that I say, stop trying to scare us to death and start governing the way you should.

We are being toyed with by this sorry excuse for a government. This is the classic trick of the illusionist, being executed on a grand scale. The trick is distraction and, sorry to say, for many it is working.

When the threat becomes one against life itself, all other threats rapidly recede into the background. Front and center is swine flu and its voracious appetite for destruction.

Economic woes are forgotton; the rising cost of energy is forgotton; the attacks on the very foundations of our society are forgotton. We are too busy sanitizing our lives, hiding behind useless masks with big deer-in-the-headlight eyes to see all that is being taken from us.

It is unbelievable to me that in the very same AP article, just a little more than a paragraph under the claim that “30,000 to 90,000” people might die, Stobbe writes, “No cause for panic. So far, swine flu isn’t much more threatening than regular seasonal flu.”

What? Are you serious? Who is sending out the misinformation here? The White House and its “experts”? The optimists at the AP? Who are we supposed to believe?

Here’s what I believe — don’t buy into the hype, don’t believe what you hear. Use common sense and don’t allow these “experts” to frighten you to death. Let’s not repeat the big Y2K scam (invest in a generator company, anyone?)  and make the elderly rush out to purchase bubbles in which to live (if I knew what company made those bubbles, I would definitely invest!).

Since the threat of terrorism has diminished, the government needs some other way to distract us while our rights, freedoms and ethics continue to erode. This White House has found just such a threat and have given it a name.

Its name is the “Swine Flu.” I think it is just a bunch of slop.

(1) http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090901/ap_on_he_me/us_med_swine_flu10_things

6 responses to “Swine Flu: True Stats or Just Plain Slop?

  1. Wash your hands. People don’t use common sense…sneezing or coughing without covering their noses or mouths…spreading their germs. I have worked with sick people for many years, I have had to remind my patients to keep their germs to themselves. I have taught my kids to cough or sneeze into their elbows or the inside of their shirts. I have wipes in the car and we use them after going into WalMart, Target…do you realize how disgusting those carts are?

    We haven’t had the flu in our house for awhile and I plan to keep it that way.

    • Vantage Point Productions

      Mary,

      What you say is so true. Being a teacher, I am constantly promoting good hygiene as the best preventive care. I have also learned to sneeze into my elbow, which must help.

      My wife and I love the wipes at the store and use them to clean the carts. We do get a lot of sickness in our house still, because our kids are young and in daycare, so really I don’t think we can avoid it (and actually, the doctor says that should help us later on). Life is germy…simple as that.

      Take care, Mary! Stay well!

      VP

  2. There are many things about the government I do not understand such as: how can the department of agriculture find one cow with mad cow disease among all the millions of cows in the United States, yet our counter terrorism units can not find bin laden. Maybe we should hire the department of agriculture to find him?? Or the earth has always been a pendelum for drastic weather changes like oh say the ice age for one. So, how does the drastic weather changes differ now, other than we label it and say it is due to global warming??? Is it really global warming or just another one of the changes that goes on normally on the earth. Scientist have continually been wrong about statics: Such as the time they said that hot dogs were cancer causing. And yes they are, you just have to eat five hundred a day in order for to maybe occur. I hear in the news all the time about how the government is upping the stock piles of vaccine for swine flu. I guess the big question is how are all these people going to die if we have a vaccine for it. If they know it is a problem why are they not mass producing the vaccine and have it available in all major cities. If we have a vaccine then we can prevent people from dying, why would 90,000 people have to die??? It makes no sense.

    • Vantage Point Productions

      Walt,

      You always make me laugh. I love the comment about the 500 hotdogs. That was so hysterical, yet right on.

      I completely agree. As a former member of the media, I know how easy it is to fall into the trap of overhyping things, especially when the government is feeding you misinformation.

      I think the whole vaccine thing is a joke. Just tonight I heard a doctor on the news saying this flu virus is no worse than a common cold and here are all these “experts” urging everyone to rush out and get shot with this untested vaccine.

      What a joke — and not a funny one at that, considering how deadly unnecessary vaccinations can be. These vaccines are only going to make the H1N1 virus become more potent. If it isn’t deadly now, it seems our government is bound and determined to make it so.

      Well, thanks for commenting Walt! Have a great holiday weekend. Try not to eat too many hotdogs!

      VP

  3. I appreciate your article about the swine flu. I only wish all those who are concerned about losing 90,000 Americans to the swine flu would be just as concerned about the 1 million or so Americans we lose each year to the abortion industry. Thank you for listening!

    • Vantage Point Productions

      Sharon,

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting on my article. It is great to have your voice in the debate.

      It is amazing how skewed our priorities are. I wish we could put a stop to the loss of so many innocent lives. It makes me crazy just thinking about it. But, that’s a topic for countless other articles.

      Thank you and have a wonderful holiday weekend.

      VP

Leave a Reply

